Again

As always, you bring the words.
I don’t know why, or how it works,
But there is something about you
That always brings them through.
What is it that binds us so tight,
That even when using all our might,
We cannot break free from bondage?

It can’t be love, ’cause that’s dead and gone,
And has been since I became a pawn,
In your games of sexual conquest –
So we can lay that theory to rest.
It can’t be lust or sexual needs,
Or even friendship that constantly feeds
Our connection to each other.

None of those things exist between us now.
So, I really would, like to know how
Are we connected so fiercely together?
If I close my eyes, I can almost feel the leather
Of the bonds that tie us up as one,
As they cut into my skin, making me numb
To the pain you create for me.

I thought you’d decided to stick to the plan,
That for once you would be a gentleman,
And respect my decision and wishes,
But, it seems, you can’t live without my kisses.
I’m not quite sure of where I’m at
When it comes to considering that,
Because my heart has let you go.

But, as always you bring the words,
And for that I’m more grateful than you’ve heard,
Because without them I feel so lonely.
But I can’t help wishing a silent “if only”
The words would come without you,
So I could live a life that’s true,
And you might also be happy.

Leave a Reply

