Mirror

Oh boy! What trouble I’m in
Just the thought has me in a spin
I want to hold on so tight
And give with all my might
But something’s holding me back

I don’t want to go where I’ve just been
And nor do you from what I’ve seen
So for now I guess we wait
And call each other mate
Until the dust settles at least

Both deep and dark and convoluted
Both carrying scars and persecuted
Our bodies say what we’re unable
All emotions set on the table
But words are never spoken

And that suits me fine to hear no words
After all the lies and crap I’ve heard
Yet part of me has come alive
Has somehow managed to survive
And wants to bask in adoration

I feel your pain as I do my own
And you feel mine so says your tone
But what do we do from here?
I’m not used to one so sincere
Or so trusting with their heart

Perhaps it’s that which holds me back
From drowning in your aphrodisiac
Maybe I’m scared of my power
To hurt and completely devour
You with my intensity

But then I remember we are the same
To neither of us is this a game
But we would never say so
Always keeping our feelings below
The point of no return

You make me wonder if what I see
Is what others encounter when looking at me
It’s like you hold up a mirror
Each time you come a little nearer
And my heart hurts for both of us

Time will tell or so they say
And after seeing you today
I wish time would hurry up and share
The story of how, when and where
We will both be free to love again

2 thoughts on “Mirror

Leave a Reply

