Mirage

I saw the look upon your face,
The discomfort and distaste.
I noticed your avoidance,
And your hesitating glance.
Before you seek to judge me
My case I’d like to plead,
And I’ll start with these few words –
Don’t believe everything you’ve heard
From a mouth and lips and eyes
That speak nothing else but lies.
I know you think you know me,
Even though vicariously,
But the truth just might astound you
And turn your thoughts askew.
I am open to your contact,
If you’d like to interact,
Or you’d like to get to know me
And with your own eyes see
The truth of who and what I am,
The reality, not the sham.

Leave a Reply

