No Regrets

I sat here the night I met you.
Memories come flooding back.
Who knew I’d be here again,
Ten months down the track?
Contemplating the journey,
That’s coming to an end.
Still trying to understand it,
Because it’s never made much sense.
To be so drawn and bound,
To one you barely know,
And yet be oh so grateful,
That you’ve helped me learn and grow.
Would I go back and change it?
Not for a second would I choose,
To pass up the strange experience,
Of knowing you as I do.
But I know I know you not,
The real you I barely glimpse.
Beneath the fibs and lies,
Of the truth there’s only hints.
Still I’m sure I can see,
The one you really are,
Just dying to be set free.
The incredibly loving person,
Beneath a life that’s so unreal,
Buried and consumed,
By wounds that’ll never heal.
Perhaps that is what binds us –
Two souls so badly broken,
Needing to give and receive love,
But have words remain unspoken?
Because a bond we can’t deny,
Definitely exists.
And even in adversity,
Our love continues to persist.
You doubt my every word,
As I doubt each of yours,
But there’s no doubt about our love,
As we know that it endures.
But the time is fast approaching,
For us to go our separate ways,
Both hearts are not just breaking,
But shattering, a thousand different ways.
If I could have this time again,
I’d do it all the same.
I’d love each tender moment,
And suffer all the pain,
Because when all is said and done,
I know one thing to be true,
I’m such a better person,
For the time I’ve spent with you.

Leave a Reply

