Not The One

We sat and talked about anything and everything.
You and I clicked right from the start.
We embarked on an affair of love,
But all the while, someone else had our hearts.

We promised to be open, and honest and true,
And for a while it seemed to work.
But it has become very clear
Deception and lies, within your words do lurk.

The reasons why, I will never know,
As I’m too tired to ask.
So now you’ve joined the realm of those
Others not up to the task.

My feelings for you, I’ve now restrained,
And will keep hidden, upon a shelf,
Until such time as I am sure, I’ve met the one
Who deserves all of my self.

Leave a Reply

